Marriage

“And among His signs is that He created for you mates from among yourselves, that you may dwell in peace and tranquility with them, and He has put love and mercy between your (hearts) Verily in that are signs for those who reflect.”
(Quran 30:21)

The Muslim Community of Palm Beach Community performs Islamic marriage (Nikah) at its Center.

Information and Instructions

  1. Contact MCPBC prior to Nikah date to schedule an appointment for Nikah with the Imam.
    Email the Imam at imam@mcpbc.org
    Call Us: (561) 969-1584
  2. Leave your name, telephone number and date you wish to get married.
  3. The following individuals need to be present:
    1. The groom and the bride
    2. Two Muslim witnesses
    3. A guardian (Wali) for a Muslim bride who is getting married for the first time.
  4. Bring the following documents to the appointment:
    1. Original copy of the Florida Marriage License (see below for information and locations for obtaining Florida Marriage License).
    2. Proper photo identification cards/passports with copies for:
      1. The groom and the bride
      2. Two witnesses
      3. The guardian (if applicable)

At the Masjid, you will fill up a marriage form and will be issued a certificate with the official seal from MCPBC. There is a $150 fee which applies for a ceremony conducted in the Masjid, and a fee of $250 which applies for ceremonies conducted elsewhere.

Florida Marriage License

Marriage licenses are issued by a county court judge or clerk of the circuit court under his or her hand and seal. Marriage licenses are issued by county and you can apply for your license at any county clerk’s office.

Find the nearest Florida’s Clerk of Court offices here.

You can get married in any county in Florida, regardless of where you obtained your marriage license.

To obtain a marriage license you need:

  1. Identification: a picture ID such as a driver’s license, state ID card, or valid passport; both parties will also have to provide their Social Security numbers, but do not need to provide their Social Security Cards.
  2. Fees: $93.50. Marriage license fees can be reduced by up to $32.50 if you complete a licensed Florida pre-marital course.

The marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. You must perform the ceremony of marriage before the 60 days has expired. Blood Tests are not required. There is a 3-day waiting period after issuance of the license before you can get married, unless you have completed the Florida pre-marital course, in which case the waiting period is waived.

Florida Marriage Statutes can be found here.